The developmental levels in achieving magnet® designation, part 1

Gail Wolf, Susan Finlayson, Margaret Hayden, Susan Hoolahan, Andrea Mazzoccoli

Research output: Contribution to journalArticle


Magnet® designation has been shown to be a cost-effective strategy resulting in improved patient, staff, and organizational outcomes. Achieving this designation requires an organization to successfully progress through developmental levels on their journey to excellence. Part 1 of this article describes a 4-level developmental model that is applied to each of the Magnet components. Part 2 will discuss a 5-step developmental process and leadership strategies for developing a unit or department through the various levels.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)136-141
Number of pages6
JournalJournal of Nursing Administration
Issue number3
StatePublished - Mar 1 2014


ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Leadership and Management

Cite this

Wolf, G., Finlayson, S., Hayden, M., Hoolahan, S., & Mazzoccoli, A. (2014). The developmental levels in achieving magnet® designation, part 1. Journal of Nursing Administration, 44(3), 136-141.